20.-Members of the Legislative Council of Quebec, as at Apr. 30, 1963

(According to seniority)

Name	Division	Date of Appointment
R. O. Grothé. Hector Laferté (Speaker) J. L. Baribeau Philippe Brais. Jules Brillant Frank L. Connors Félix Messier Édouard Asselin Geo. B. Foster Gérald Martineau J. Olier Renaud Patrice Tardif Joseph Boulanger Édouard Masson Albert Bouchard Jean Barrette Emile Lesage Albiny Paquette John P. Rowat Ernest Benoit Antonio Auger Oscar Gilbert Jean Raymond George C. Marler (Leader)	Stadacona. Shawinigan. Grandville. Golfe. Mille Isles. De Lanaudière. Wellington. Victoria. Lauzon. Alma. De la Vallière. De la Durantaye. Repentigny. La Salle. Sorel. Montarville. Rougemont. De Lorimier	Dec. 23, 1927 July 23, 1934 Jan. 14, 1938 Feb. 16, 1940 Jan. 14, 1942 Jan. 14, 1942 Feb. 12, 1942 Jan. 23, 1946 Aug. 22, 1946 Aug. 22, 1946 Aug. 22, 1946 July 20, 1952 Oct. 8, 1952 Mar. 12, 1953 Nov. 24, 1954 Oct. 19, 1955 Aug. 1, 1956 Oct. 29, 1958 Oct. 29, 1958 Apr. 8, 1959 Sept. 30, 1959 Mar. 30, 1960 Apr. 27, 1960 Oct. 8, 1960

Subsection 6.—Ontario

The Government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Hon. William Earl Rowe, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1963, was appointed effective Mar. 1, 1963. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 112.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the province, is composed of 98 members elected for a statutory term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 112.

Besides the regular departments of government, the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario-St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board, the Liquor Licence Board, the Hospital Services Commission and The Water Resources Commission have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1960, c. 208) each member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$5,000 and an allowance of \$2,000 for In addition, the Speaker receives a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$3,000 and an expense allowance of \$2,000; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$2,000; and the Leader of the Opposition a salary of \$12,000 per annum. Each member of the Cabinet having charge of a department receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is \$16,000 and for a Cabinet Minister having charge of a department \$12,000. By the 1956 amendment, every Minister of the Crown in charge of a department, the Minister of the Crown who is a member of The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, and the Leader of the Opposition receive a representation allowance of \$2,000 per annum. Each Minister without Portfolio, other than the Minister who is a member of The Hydro-Electric Power Commission, receives \$2,500 salary and \$1,000 representation allowance per annum, by the Executive Council Act and the Legislative Assembly Act, respectively (RSO 1960).